This category includes chalets, appartments, or furnished homes that must be equipped with a kitchenette and with one or more bedrooms.

Since December 1st, 2001, all accommodation establishments in Québec have been required to have a classification certificate from the Minister responsible for Tourism. The Minister assigned the Corporation de l'industrie touristique du Québec (CITQ) to inspect and classify these establishments.

The classification program, designed with the help of various associations in the tourist accommodation industry, is based on a point system and evaluates establishments' facilities and services according to international standards, while taking account of the specific features of each category.

Tourist homes have a star classification. Classification levels of 0 to 4 stars indicate each establishment's comfort level and services.

200 à 415 points :

Tourist homes with facilities meeting the minimum classification standards.


415 à 615 points :

Tourist homes with basic facilities and services meeting the quality standards.
615 à 815 points :

Tourist homes with excellent facilities, offering several services and amenities.

815 à 1 000 points :

Tourist homes with superior facilities, offering a wide range of services and amenities.

Send this URL to a friend